that night

that night I began to fall

almost ten full years

almost a decade passed before I realized that I never stopped falling

I never touched the bottom of the hole I fell into

no one ever caught me

not because there was no one to catch my fall

because I did not let anyone

I pushed them away

afraid they would mock the pain I felt

a decade of blackness surrounding me

ten years in which darkness became my sole companion

in which numbness became my safe place

my home

I’ve become afraid of the light

Kommentar verfassen

